Those durned helicopters!!!

 

Sep 18–

Rigga Fragga Rugga Frugga!

 

Helicopters! 

 

It’s “buzz the neighborhood with military helicopters” time this week and boy do I hate it.

 

I tell myself to calm down but every time I hear a helicopter, my heart races. Doesn’t matter that we’re legal for our medical marijuana plants and that we have less plants out than we’re allowed to; it still freaks me out. 

 

Everyone who has medical marijuana is in this uncomfortable legal limbo. We’re legal according to the state, but not the federal rules. As long as the DEA (the feds) don’t try to mess with medical marijuana patients, we’re probably ok. It’s almost like marijuana has been legalized…but it’s not. 

 

Ok, calm down…take a deep breath…we’ve got our cards, we’re legal, and we hardly have any plants. They’re not going to bother us. Right? Our pepper plants don’t look like pot from up there, do they? …Shit! There they are again!….dammitdammitdammitdammit…aarrgh…

 

Ya know, I try not to get too caught up in the kinda paranoia that floats around on the Internet, but when you have a big old black chopper flying over your house multiple times, you start to wonder…

 

Are they gonna land? Are they really even looking for anything or are they just logging air time to make a buck? Is this the year our government finally just goes crazy and start loading us all into our holding cells?

 

I’ve been trying to envision my government as a useful thing; like a knife, a television, or a fire, it is a tool that can be used for good or evil or both. (I used to consider myself an anarchist but that was when I was younger and dumber.) I like the post office and the fire department and having the roads fixed and all that. I think single-payer health care would be a fine and dandy idea except we probably won’t get that in America till after all the baby boomers die off. (Sigh.)

 

But…all that reasonable unemotional stuff goes right out the window when some military helicopter is buzzing you…suddenly it feels like you’re just another target in a third world country, and your geographical location in one of the 50 United States doesn’t count anymore. 

 

It just curdles my whole attitude. 

 

F**k the f**king government! Those f**kers!

 

The helicopters were actually in our neighborhood a couple days ago, but if I had written this blog entry then it would have consisted of a little more than cuss words in capital letters with lots of exclamation marks. 

 

Here they come again! Dammit! Didn’t they do enough of this yesterday?

 

Now picture all those other people just like me who got this unwanted “attitude adjustment” from their government this week, and every other time they invade people’s privacy, and you can see why some people hate their damn government. 

 

Of course, the Republicans have learned to capitalize on this “government is bad” attitude, even though to them it means, “government is bad when it taxes rich people or makes them follow rules”. They don’t give a crap about poor people with DEA ‘copters swooping down on them, but then neither do the Democrats.

 

Growwllll….snarrlll….mutter….grrrrr…….

 

I’m not grinding my teeth together. Really.

 

Anyway, I wanted to put in a link in here to my song, Get That Helicopter Out My Sky. (The song sounds a lot friendlier than this post.) You can download it for free here on Soundclick.com, or listen to it here on Songramp.com (and you can download if for free there if you’re a member).

 

Maybe I’ll just repost these links every damn time they fly us.

 

2 responses to “Those durned helicopters!!!

  1. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Pingback: It’s not just me. The helicopters really are that bad. « Lucky's Blog

Leave a Reply

